How do I find the largest top 10 files and directories on a Linux / UNIX / BSD filesystem?

The other day I got a warning message that my server’s file system was full. I was like ‘WTF? this is a new server image’. So I used a quick command in terminal (below) and found that the error log was 19GB in 404 errors (WHOOPS!).

# du -a /var | sort -n -r | head -n 10

via How do I find the largest top 10 files and directories on a Linux / UNIX / BSD filesystem?.

Also check out the new toolnames.com I rebuilt it from the ground up making it much simpler and 10 times faster.

Leave a Reply

